Suhr Wins Seventh Outdoor Championship on Final Day of USAs

On the final day of competition at the 2015 USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Eugene Oregon, 2012 Olympic Games gold medalist Jennifer Suhr (Churchville, NY / adidas) continued to dominate the women’s pole vault, winning her seventh USA Outdoor championship. Suhr cleared 4.82m (15-9¾) to win. “This is only my second meet of the year, so I’m still working on a lot of things," stated Suhr. "It’s a challenge peaking for worlds, because you’ve also got to peak for this meet. You need to be on your game or you won’t be going to worlds.”  With her win she secured a spot on Team USA for the 2015 IAAF World Athletics Championships that will take place in August in Beijing, China.

Video - Jennifer Suhr 4.92m Vault 

Katie Burnett (Owego, NY) placed third in the women’s 20 km race walk in a time of 1 hour, 40 minutes, and 57 seconds. By placing third Burnett earned a spot on the world team if she is able to meet the 1:36:00 world championships qualifying time before August 9.  20 km Race Walk video

Throwing a career best of 20.92m (68-7¾), NCAA champion Jonathon Jones (Portbille, NY / University of Buffalo) placed fifth in a very strong shot put field.  He previous best throw was 20.78m (68-2¼). 

Freddie Crittenden (Syracuse, NY / Syracuse) finished 10th in the men’s 110m hurdles with a time of 13.62 seconds in the semi-finals. 

2015 Championships Results - Niagara Members                                   full event results

Open Championships

Junior Championships

media services by   

Watson Wins at World Youth Trials in Dominant Fashion

At the World Youth Trials today in Lisle, Ill., Samantha Waston secured a spot on Team USA for the  IAAF world Youth Championships.  The event, being held on the campus of Benedictine University serves as the selection meet for the upcoming IAAF World Youth Championships in Cali, Columbia. The top two athletes in each event were eligible for selection to the team with up to a total of 49 athletes selected.

After qualifying for the girl’s 800m finals with a time of 2:10.72 in the 1st round yesterday Watson, a raising junior at Rush-Henrietta High School, dominated the finals, winning in a new personal best of 2:04.27.  Her margin of victory was 3.7 seconds and her time makes her the fourth fastest high schooler in the country this season. Watson’s impressive season also includes the #3 US time in the 400m (52.69) and #9 US time in the 1500m (4:25.24).  watch race

Katrina Patterson (Clarence Center, NY) finished third in the girl’s 3000m run with a time of 10 minutes, 13.62 seconds.

Samantha Peterman (Springville, NY) finished fourth in the girl’s 1500m run with a time of 4 minutes, 43.06 seconds. 

Niagara results

media services by  

Contact Us

David Reinhardt
Association President
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.